Monday morning and still in The Villages

Well, it was an interesting week end. I haven’t left The Villages just yet. I was so impressed with the Sumter Landing town square that I just decided to stay for a day or two. I found a great place to rehearse my ukulele. It’s in a pass through area between two shops. It has great acoustics and the shop owners haven’t complained. As people passed by I received some nice comments. Even had one lady ask for my card. She wanted to know if I would come and play for her club. I’ve talked to folks from New Jersey, Canada, Minnesota, Michigan, Wisconsin, Virginia, New York, Ohio and Indiana. Some were residents and some were guests.

Each night they have entertainment on the square. Last night it was a trio. They were pretty good, but not as good as the guy who played piano and sang on Saturday night. He had a great repertoire and a great connection with the audience. Lots of people up dancing, especially line-dancing. Seems to be very popular here. I saw the Peabody and Sherman movie yesterday. It was pretty good.

I have sent out several e-mails to chapters within a three hour drive of here and hope to hear back from someone very soon. I slept in my van Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights. Even if I don’t have a chorus to visit tonight I will still sleep in a bed. I’ll get a hotel if I need to. I’ve just been trying to be frugal.

I’ m sitting in a Panera Bread this morning so I can have access to WiFi. I just talked with a lady who moved here 12 days ago from Indianapolis. I was in the sales office this morning and one of the ladies I was talking to told me that there are lots of full and part-time jobs here. It seems that someone is trying to tell me something. Though I am not through traveling yet, perhaps I have found a place that I will return to when my traveling days are completed. At least it’s something that I can and will be considering.

This past week was great with visits to four different chapters.
Monday-Hernando Harmonizers in Weeki Wachee
Tuesday-the Toast of Tampa Sweet Adeline’s in Tampa
Wednesday-Sound of Sunshine Chorus in New Port Richey
Thursday-The Heart of Florida Chorus in Lady Lake (The Villages of Florida)
And a fun week-end at Lake Sumter Landing in The Villages

Pictures to be posted soon. Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “Monday morning and still in The Villages”

  1. Randy It sounds like you are having a wondeful time. I heard the Villages are beautiful. Have you taken any pictures?

  2. What a treat it was to have you practice in our breezeway while we took our lunch break! I loved your music and your voice! Lovely to meet you as well….

Leave a Reply

