One month in South Carolina

When I arrived in South Carolina I wasn’t planning to spend the entire month there. It worked out pretty well though! I was able to pick up a couple of jobs. Thank you Brian and Keith for taking me up on my offer. I felt that it was mutually beneficial and I am so glad that I got to meet you both! I’m also glad that I could help my sister Lu and her husband Ray with their four legged children while they were in Washington. It was great to get to spend time with Lu and visit her chorus. Ray was great as well, though he’s not as much fun as Lu! I can talk barbershop as much as I want with Lu. She is a Sweet Adeline and loves barbershop almost as much as me!

I departed Leesville, SC this morning. I had contacted the chapter president of the Gainesville, FL chapter yesterday and asked if anyone in his chapter would be willing to put me up tonight. I got a call from one of the members of his chorus in less than an hour letting me know that I would welcomed at his home. Gotta love my barbershop brothers! I arrived here in Gainesville late this afternoon and found my way to the downtown area. Sitting here at a great pizza place in a short sleeved shirt thinking about the snow that is predicted for Indianapolis tonight. My host is expecting me within the next hour.

I have already been in contact with the Cape Coral Chapter and plan to attend their rehearsal Monday night. They are the closest chapter to Ft. Myer, FL. I would like to visit as many chapters in Florida as possible during the month of March and perhaps the first of April.

I stopped in Georgia around lunch time. I told the kid that served me that I was just passing through and he responded that Georgia was the greatest state. I asked him how many states he has been able to visit. He answered “five”. Seventeen year olds have so much to learn!

I spent most of the drive time today just thinking. No music, no NPR. It was good for me.

One thought on “One month in South Carolina”

  1. Just saw your post about this on the CCS email. Good for you, man! I look forward to reading about your future adventures.

Leave a Reply

