Another week in South Carolina

So . . . This week has been much different, with a combination of work and sight-seeing so far. When I visited my sisters chorus, my first week here, I announced to the ladies that I would be available for odd jobs. One of the ladies approached me after the rehearsal and told me that her ex-husband had recently been injured in a serious fall. His left arm was in a sling and his right arm was in a cast. He needed help with his yard and moving some appliances into the house from his garage. He called me this past week-end and I went to his house on Monday at noon. He had a pretty good sized yard with lots of trees. It had not been raked in months. The leaves were about four inches deep across the entire back yard. I started working to get the leaves up and moved to the back side of his property line around noon and didn’t finish until after 5:00 p.m. It was work. When I finished I was pretty sore but happy. He asked me if I could come back the next day to change out his existing appliances for the ones in his garage. I was happy to help him again on Tuesday. I moved his existing refrigerator, washer and dryer into the garage and moved the newer ones into the kitchen and laundry room. I had to remove the doors from the house as well as the doors from the refrigerator to get the old one out and the newer one in. It took some time. He was pleased and I was glad to be able to make a little money.

This is the kind of work that I am hoping I will be able to find on a regular basis as I travel the U.S. this year. I am an excellent helper and have a strong work ethic. I am not a taker but a giver. So if you are reading this blog and you receive a call from me this year to ask if I can stay with you for a few days (or a week) please know that I can help with a task or a project while I am there. I can provide “an extra set of hands”. I have done my share of moving over the years. If you have a storage area that needs to be thinned out, I’m the guy who can help. If you have household items that need to be moved from one location to another I can help. I won’t provide the truck or dollies but I can provide some knowledge, expertise and manual labor.

Yesterday morning I drove to Charleston, SC to visit with a friend. I had helped her move out of her house into an apartment after she sold her house in Indy last year. She wrapped up the final details concerning her job and moved to Charleston in the fall. She was an excellent tour guide showing me some interesting spots in Charleston, such a beautiful and historic city! She is in the process of having a new home built there. It is not the first time that she has done that. She built a home on James Island about twenty years ago. What a fascinating lady. I really enjoyed spending the day with her yesterday. Thank you Judy!

As I look out the window here from the kitchen at my sisters house I have a great view of Lake Murray. The sun is shimmering on the water and it is supposed to be near 80 degrees today. The dogs will be outside most of the day today.

I was finally able to get my mini-van repaired. All total I spent over $1,200.00 on repairs. I am optimistic that things have been resolved with the mysterious issue that I was experiencing before leaving Indy. It certainly drove very smooth yesterday. Turned out to be a brake issue. Thankful for a mechanic who kept looking for the problem until he found it. Can’t say much for the Dealership that I took it to in Indy back in January.

I have one more possible job from one of the guys at the men’s chorus in Lexington, SC. Waiting for a call back. He has some yard work that he needs help with.

Will most likely be making a trip back up to Asheville this week end for a hike. Beautiful part of the country and an interesting and lovely lady with whom to spend time.

Leave a Reply

