Valentines Day

Friday, February 14, 2014

This is the first time in the last 13 years that I am not out delivering Singing Valentines! Circle City Sound (henceforth to be referred to as CCS or “my chorus”) sends quartets out to the entire Indianapolis Metropolitan area to deliver Valentines messages in song. Typically the quartet will sing one of two songs, Heart of my Heart or Let Me Call You Sweetheart. Quartets that are registered with the BHS will usually have a more extended repertoire that they can draw from. Today I’m pretty sure that CCS is sending out three registered quartets as well as a few other pick-up quartets. The SV program usually runs like a well oiled machine thanks to the efforts of several men who know what they are doing. This year should be a good year considering the exposure that the chorus had on radio, t.v. and newspaper. This past Monday I tuned into Fox 59 on-line and watched Don Brown, Larry Anthony, Duane Henry and Jerry Troxel deliver a Singing Valentine to the on-air personalities. I was lucky enough to do that last year.

This year I am sitting here looking out the window at snow that is keeping most of South Carolina indoors. They shut everything down when they get more than two inches. My sister’s chorus had to cancel their entire program because of the snow. They just don’t have the equipment to be able to handle any more than the Interstate highways.

Saturday, February 15, 2014

My sister Lu and her husband Ray are leaving for Seattle, Washington tomorrow and I will be taking care of their dogs while they are gone. Lu has been bustling around the house today packing and making preparations for their departure. Of coarse the house has to be cleaned and all the stuff for the dogs has to be in place. This is one very quiet place when no-one is here. Except of coarse the dogs can make their presence known when a car drives by or a squirrel runs up a tree or a neighbor’s dog starts barking or the wind shifts or they just feel like barking. I’m sure that I will adjust to being the dog whisperer.

Earlier this week I drove up to Greer, SC because my good friend Johnny lost his Dad last week-end and I wanted to be with him in his time of loss. His family was very gracious to welcome me in and let me stay with them for two days and nights. The snow delayed my return to Leesville. I made it back on Thursday.

Lu and Ray will be returning on Monday, February 24th about midnight. I will either be leaving for Florida on the 25th or 26th. I have a contact in Florida that I am looking forward to meeting soon after I arrive at my brother Michael’s home. I hope to be talking with a lot more people who have experienced CACM before I leave South Carolina. It takes time to make connections with people, their lives are so busy. No-one is just sitting by the phone waiting for my call.

One thought on “Valentines Day”

  1. Randy it is so nice to see that when we follow our dreams all kinds of doors open up. I am glad you weren’t stranded somewhere when we were hit with the storm. I hope you are going to be able to post pictures of your travels.

Leave a Reply

