What a week (part 1)

The week started with getting my mini-van into the shop to find out why it is running so poorly. After replacing the spark plugs and all the wiring to the plugs I picked the van up from the shop and drove it a round for a little while. I discovered that it was still having an issue. I made arrangements to take into the Dodge dealership for a diagnosis. I also made arrangements with Budget car rental. Tuesday morning I contacted a gentleman with the Asheville chapter of the Barbershop Harmony Society (herein after to be referred to as the BHS). I asked if there might be someone in the chapter that would be willing to put me up for the night on Wednesday. I received a call later that evening from one of their members and he offered to let me stay at his home. I picked up the rental car Tuesday late afternoon and departed Indianapolis on Wednesday morning. I made it to Asheville, NC around 5:00 p.m. where I was received very graciously by a gentlemen who could not have been more kind or hospitable! He and his wife of 40 years were simply two of the nicest people that you could ever hope to meet. They made me feel right at home. They fed me and we talked and played pool until time for bed. Thursday morning I thanked his wife as she was leaving for work and had breakfast with my host. We talked like old friends for over an an hour before I hit the road.
I was so impressed with these generous and gracious people! He was born the same year that I was born. He gave credit to God for blessing him with such a wonderful life. His children live very close and he is able to spend lots of time with his grand kids. They have a beautiful home and seemed to be two of the happiest people I have ever met. I would like to say a big “Thank You” to my hosts from Asheville. God bless you for your hospitality!
Thursday morning as I left their home I had to drive a curvy road through a gap in the mountains. It was a crisp sunny morning and as I drove away I felt like I had just made two new friends. I experienced such a feeling of gratitude and encouragement as I drove to Pinehurst, NC.

One thought on “What a week (part 1)”

Leave a Reply

